Works near Theale

Published: 27 January 2021

Notice from Network Rail 

Network Rail are planning to renew sections of the railway in Theale from 17 March and we wanted to let you know what we have communicated to local residents.

A copy of the work schedule is below for ease of reference, though there will be daytime work not listed below, from 17 March to 7 July 2021, to set up the compound on Wigmore Lane. This work will generate noise at times and we have sent the attached letter out to local residents, with a bit more information about our compound in the letter sent to residents of Wigmore Lane specifically. We will, of course, take steps to minimise the impact on local residents, especially with moving materials to and from Wigmore Lane as we understand there have been concerns raised about the road surface previously. The crossing on Wigmore Lane will also need to be closed at times when we are working close to it or need access for machines or materials. I believe we are also in communication with the local angling group who mostly use this for access.

Preparation of worksite

Saturday 3 – Sunday 4 April

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 10 – Sunday 11 April

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 17 – Sunday 18 April

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Monday 19 – Friday 23 April

Overnight shifts each day, from 10pm – 6am

Saturday 24 – Sunday 25 April

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Track renewal work

Friday 30 April – Monday 3 May

24 hour shifts, from 10pm Friday – 5.30am Monday

Friday 7 – Monday 10 May

24 hour shifts, from 10pm Friday – 5.30am Monday

Follow-up work

Saturday 15 – Sunday 16 May

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 22 – Sunday 23 May

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 29 – Sunday 30 May

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 5 – Sunday 6 June

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am

Saturday 19 – Sunday 20 June

1 overnight shift, from 11pm – 9am